Press "Enter" to skip to content

Coronavirus: the UK adds the Czech Republic and Switzerland on the quarantine list

Travelers returning to the UK in the Czech Republic and Switzerland have to simmer for 14 days from 0400 on Saturday, a government ministry has declared.

In a post on Twitter, UK Transport Secretary Grant Shapps suggested the movement, which also contains Jamaica, was required to maintain down infection rates.

He added: “Quarantining on return in the non-Travel Corridor nation is a legal requirement and you also commit a criminal offense if you violate that quarantine. Fines, in addition to a criminal record, can lead to.”

The UK’s protected list is updated with data in the Joint Biosecurity Centre, an organization set up by the authorities to make policy decisions in the struggle against coronavirus, and Public Health England.

The UK imposes precautionary steps on nations where the rate of disease exceeds 20 cases per 100,000 within seven days.

The authorities said that info from Switzerland revealed: “a constant growth” in the number of weekly instances.

Likewise, instances from the Czech Republic had improved by 25 percent in two weeks, increasing by 1,723 to 2,153.

Statistics shared by the authorities from Jamaica revealed the maximum spike in one of the 3 nations, with weekly instances per 100,000 rising by 382 percent from 4.3 on August 20 on 20.8 on Thursday.

The UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office has upgraded its travel information to advise against all but essential travel to the 3 nations.

Quarantine measures are put by each person UK state however, the Department of Transport stated they’d be putting equal steps.

The elimination of Switzerland and the Czech Republic in the UK’s exempt record comes following spikes in many other European nations watched them eliminated in recent months, such as France, the Netherlands, Austria, Croatia, and Malta.

Cuba is going to be added into the listing of low-risk nations where passengers can arrive out of needing to self-isolate.