Press "Enter" to skip to content

Global Energy Prize award ceremony live of Moscow

Last updated on October 1, 2019

The Global Energy Prize honors outstanding accomplishments in energy research and technologies from around the Earth, which are helping deal with the energy challenges we’re facing.

This season, what will be the 17th yearly ceremony, the awards will recognize technological improvements created to resolve infrastructure issues in the energy industry — for example issues of energy integration and storage, which can be particularly pivotal from the renewable energy industry.

The 2019 laureates are Professor Frede Blaabjerg out of Denmark — for outstanding technical contributions to the style of electricity management systems allowing the integration of renewable energy — and Dr. Khalil Amine in the USA, for excellent contribution to the evolution of efficient electric energy storage technologies.

Other scientists honored will get gold medals, gold badges and diplomas — along with also a share of a top fund of 39 million rubles. The Global Energy Prize is ranked among the planet’s 99 Big science awards from the IREG Observatory on Academic Prizes and Excellence, and as a”mega prize” from the International Congress of Distinguished Awards.

The Global Energy Prize was created in Russia, throughout the Global Energy Association, and is currently backed by top Russian energy firms Gazprom, FGC UES and Surgutneftegas. It promotes global energy co-operation and private and public investment in the energy industry.

It’s possible to see the service, streaming live from 10.30 am CEST.