Press "Enter" to skip to content

The F Major Scale – fmajor scale

This lesson is about the F major scale. Which will be the notes of the scale? There’s a single apartment on this particular scale. It is B level. As with every other significant scale that the F maj scale includes a total of seven notes in addition to the F notice repeats at a high octave.

Highly Recommended: Click here for a few of the ideal piano/keyboard classes I have seen online.

Let us discuss the periods inside this scale. The 2nd notice, G is the significant second. The 3rd notice, A is the significant third. The 4th note, Bb is the best 4th of this scale. The 5th notice, C is the best fifth. The 6th notice, D is the significant sixth. The 7th notice E is the significant seventh and also the 8th notice, F is the perfect eighth.

We may observe the note names and where they’re on the computer keyboard.

Concerning scale levels, F is the tonic of the F major scale. G would be the supertonic. E is the top tone and F is the octave of the scale.

There’s a formulation for forming this scale and another significant scale. That formulation is W-W-H-W-W-W-H. What does this mean?

To begin with, a half measure (also referred to as a semitone) is the shortest distance between two keys on your piano. It is the shortest space in Western music. For example, C sharp is a half measure. E to F is a half measure. Two half measures constitute a complete step (or entire tone). For example, C to D is a whole step, and F to G is a complete measure too. An entire step usually means you ought to bypass a secret. A half step usually means you ought to play with the next key.

Using the formulation, W-W-H-W-W-W-H, once we begin on F, we first proceed one step into G, one step into some, a half measure into Bb, a step into C, a whole step to D, a step into E and a half measure into F. And there we have it… the F major scale.

The comparative small of F important is D minor. Both scales take advantage of exactly the very same notes. The distinction is that for F major, F is the initial notice, while for D minor, D is the initial note. The notes of the D minor scale are D — — E — F — — G — — A — Bb — C — D.

Here would be the fingerings on this particular scale. The figures indicate the palms for use for every note. For hand, the thumb is finger 1, the index finger is finger two, the middle finger is 3, the ring finger is 4 plus pinky finger is 5.

Fingerings (Left Hand): 5, 5, 5, 3, 2, 1, 2 3, 2, 1

Fingerings (Right Hand): 1, 2, 2, 3, 4, 1, 2, 3, 4
Let us now discuss the diatonic triads for all these scales. There is a triad chord for every note of the F major scale. For additional reading about the chords in the key of F major, proceed here.

Modes of the F major scale:

Ionian/Major Scale: F, G, A, Bb, C, D, E, F
Dorian: G, A, Bb, C, D, E, F, G
Phrygian: A, Bb, C, D, E, F, G, A
Lydian: Bb, C, D, E, F, G, A, Bb
Mixolydian: C, D, E, F, G, A, Bb, C
Aeolian/Natural minor scale: D, E, F, G, A, Bb, C, D
Locrian: E, F, G, A, Bb, C, D, E
See that the Ionian style is just like a significant scale. The Aeolian mode is also the same as the organic minor scale.

Piano Scales

Piano Keyboard Lessons Home Page