Press "Enter" to skip to content

Hima Called in relay Group from 25-member World Championships squad

The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) collection committee has chosen Hima Das one of the 25-member national groups containing 16 men and nine women for the IAAF World Championships to be held in Doha, Qatar, from September 27 to October 6.

With less than a year to choose the Olympic Games in Tokyo, the group will take the hopes of their track and field lovers of the nation.

The AFI thinks that the 4x400m relay teams will perform better than they did at the World Relays at Yokohama in May last. “We’ve spent a great deal of time at the 400m runners, making them train beneath renowned trainer Galina Bukharin. We feel that the squad was well ready to supply the very best results on the World Stage,” AFI President Adele J. Sumariwalla stated on Monday.

Metric miler Jinson Johnson, who’s currently training with Coach Scott Simmons at Colorado Springs, US, has caught the eye with his consistency. In recent months enhanced his National Record in the 1500m twice, first with a period of 3:37.62 mins at Nijmegen, the Netherlands, on June 15 and 3:35.24 mins at Berlin in September 1 to make the grade.

Extended jumper M. Sreeshankar, one of the earliest Indians to reach the IAAF qualifying standard with a jump of 8.20m at the National Open Championships at Bhubaneswar in September this past year, has recovered from following a heel injury kept him from the Asian Championships in Doha in April. He found the 8.00m mark and will profit from competing at the major stage.

Even though 400m runner Arokia Rajiv is inaccessible as a result of injury, the selectors chose to go over the event of javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra who is undergoing rehabilitation program following an elbow operation at a subsequent stage. Selection committee also accepted the titles of sprinters Dutee Chand (100m Girls ), ArchanaSuseentran (200m Girls ) and higher jumper Tejaswin Shankar subject to invite from IAAF according to their world positions. The committee decided to run a confirmatory trial for quarter-miler Anjali Devi for choice from the group in-person women’s 400m. The trial will be run on 21st September 2019 in NS-NIS Patiala.

The AFI collection committee meeting, chaired by Olympian Gurbachan Singh Randhawa, has been attended by AFI President AdilleJ Sumariwalla, Chief Coach Bahadur Singh, Bahadur Singh Saggu, Krishna Poonia, Praveen Jolly, UdayPrabhu, Paramjit Singh.

The group: